The legal information provided on this website is the product
of Legal Aid NorthWest Texas (LANWT). None of the legal
information on this website is associated with or the product of
the Office of the Attorney General of Texas or any of its
Q. What is
Crime Victims’ Compensation?
Texas Crime Victims’ Compensation Program is administered by the
Office of the Attorney General (OAG) and it assists eligible
applicants by reimbursing costs incurred as a result of violent
crime, including medical services, mental health counseling,
funeral expenses, and lost earnings. The program is designated
by law as the “payer of last resort,” and collateral sources
such as health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, auto insurance, or
Texas Workers’ Compensation must first be utilized.
Q. Who is
eligible to apply?
A. To be
eligible, an individual must:
Be a United States resident with the crime occurring in
Texas or a Texas resident who becomes a victim in a country
without a compensation program.
Report the crime to a law enforcement agency within a
reasonable period of time, but not so late as to interfere with
or hamper the investigation and prosecution of the crime.
File an application within three years of the date of the
Q. Who may
Innocent victims of crime who suffer substantial threat of
physical and/or emotional harm or death may qualify. Dependents
of victims and authorized individuals acting on behalf of a
victim may qualify. Immediate family or household members who
require counseling may apply. An intervenor who goes to the aid
of a victim or a peace officer may qualify. Benefits may be
reduced or denied if the victim: participated in the crime,
engaged in illegal activity, was an inmate at the time of the
crime, knowingly, or intentionally submitted false information,
or did not cooperate with appropriate law enforcement agencies.
Q. How can
law enforcement agency and prosecutor’s office in Texas is
mandated to provide victims with information about the Crime
Victims’ Compensation Program. When contacting these agencies,
please ask for the victim assistance coordinator or liaison, who
can provide assistance in completing the application. Hospitals
and medical centers may also provide applications. Applications
can be obtained directly from the Crime Victims’ Compensation
Program by calling 1-800-983-9933. Staff is available to answer
questions and to provide assistance in completing the
application. Applications and information are also available at
crimes are covered?
covered are those in which the victim suffers substantial threat
of physical or emotional harm or death. These crimes may
include sexual assault, homicide, and other violent crimes.
Some crimes involving vehicles are also covered, including DWI,
failure to stop and render aid, criminally negligent homicide,
aggravated assault, intoxication manslaughter, and intoxication
Q. What type
of financial assistance is available?
may be approved for benefits up to a total of $50,000. In the
case of catastrophic injuries resulting in a total and permanent
disability, victims may be eligible for an additional $75,000 in
Upon approval, benefits may be awarded for
medical, hospital, physical therapy, or nursing care
psychiatric care or counseling
one-time relocation assistance for victims of family
violence or a victim of sexual assault who is assaulted in the
victim’s place of residence
loss of earnings or support
care of a child or dependent
funeral and burial expenses
crime scene clean-up
replacement costs for clothing, bedding or other property
seized as evidence or rendered unusable as the result of the
Q. What can
I do if my application is denied?
A. If you
disagree with the decision made by the Crime Victims’
Compensation Program, you have the right to ask for
reconsideration of your claim. Your request for reconsideration
should be made in writing within 30 days of the decision. Your
letter should state the reason you disagree with the decision.
you require additional assistance, please contact Crime Victims’
Compensation Program directly at 800-983-9933, or visit